Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Never ending hole

Never ending hole 01 Jul 2014 13:34 #1334

• dwunder
I'm pretty new to this, so please bear with my inexperience.

There are times when I have been out MD and get a good high pitched tone. I will do my best to center my target and then dig a preliminary hole about 3-4 inches. (no sense in digging a mineshaft if I don't have to ....right?) Anyway, sometimes the hole will get deeper and deeper up to about 10 or 11 inches and the signal will still be there in the center. Is it worth pursuing past this point or is the object I am detecting obviously pretty large and not a coin giving a signal at that depth? Usually when this happens I draw a proverbial line in sand (hole) and reverse excavation if I have not unearthed whatever is giving me the signal. What do you guys do when that happens?

Many thanks!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Never ending hole 01 Jul 2014 22:15 #1336

• Coin Magnet
  • Administrator
  • Keep Your Coil To The Soil
  • Thank you received: 7
dwunder wrote:
I'm pretty new to this, so please bear with my inexperience.

There are times when I have been out MD and get a good high pitched tone. I will do my best to center my target and then dig a preliminary hole about 3-4 inches. (no sense in digging a mineshaft if I don't have to ....right?) Anyway, sometimes the hole will get deeper and deeper up to about 10 or 11 inches and the signal will still be there in the center. Is it worth pursuing past this point or is the object I am detecting obviously pretty large and not a coin giving a signal at that depth? Usually when this happens I draw a proverbial line in sand (hole) and reverse excavation if I have not unearthed whatever is giving me the signal. What do you guys do when that happens?

Many thanks!

What is the brand and model of detector you are using?

Never ending hole 02 Jul 2014 07:04 #1338

• dwunder
A free one.